Tags

A couple of years back our dear friends had their first child. I had been cruising quilt blogs for some time and also had started sewing bags on a regular basis, so I was gung ho to make a quilt. I found the tutorial from my favorite quilt blogger Film in the Fridge, http://filminthefridge.com/2012/02/23/converging-corners-block-a-tutorial/.   You can check out a photo of that project here http://www.pinterest.com/pin/62065301085070109/. My next quilt, shown here, was again for another baby, I used a pattern from the book Modern Blocks” compiled by Susanne Woods.Image

Both of these quilts I was self-taught and fumbled along, including the quilting part. They turned out okay, but I decided I wanted to give free motion quilting a try, so I took a class at my local quilt shop, New Pieces in Berkeley. The class was great and I learned a lot and felt some what confident with moving forward. That was until a flare of rheumatoid arthritis kicked in, I just can’t control the tension, etc. My biggest problem is moving the quilt from left to right, my shoulders and elbows won’t allow the motion. So now I am back to straight line quilting. I just pieced together a quilt with a lot of negative space, I had hoped to free motion quilt, but it’s not happening. So back to straight line quilting, I have been practicing on some smaller squares and I plan to go with the white square below as my quilting pattern.Image

My goal is to have a quarter inch between each line, as precise as I can make it. Once I get moving on the project I will post some images.